BOOKS: 4 New Sci Fi Books To Read This October

I wish I could just get paid to read. I used to think all good ideas were already used up, and everything was just a rewrite or a remake, but 4 new books release today (October 4) that make me think otherwise. I waded through the 20 plus sci-fi and fantasy books that are released this month to give you what I think are the best bets. Have a quick look. They sound capital G – Great.

The Rise of Io by Wesley Chu
This one sounds like great fun. When small time con artist and smuggler, Ella Pattel is in the proverbial wrong place, she is possessed by a very old, body swapping alien with an inferiority complex. Together the two head off to investigate a series of murders in the border states that threaten a fragile peace. It sounds like there is a sense of humor here. I’ll give it a shot.

Buy your copy of The Rise of Io now from Amazon. It’s Grumpy’s number one choice for the month.

Crosstalk by Connie Willis
More sci fi with a sense of humor. Briddey Flannigan decides to undergo an unproven medical procedure that will implant a device to give her more empathy with her boyfriend, Trent, the CEO of her company. Unfortunately, the chip connects her with someone else altogether; a grouchy, basement dwelling tech engineer, who is not surprised at all to hear voices in his head. (Sounds like a man cut from the same fabric as me)

Buy your copy of Crosstalk at Amazon today.

The Rift Uprising by Amy S. Foster
This one falls in the young adult category, but I gotta tell ya, I read a bunch of Harry Potter and all of the Hunger Games stuff, and couldn’t tell the difference between the stuff I normally read. I’ll be giving this one a try.

Ryn is a teenage Citadel, enhanced with cybernetics, and trained to guard the Rift, and tear in the fabric of reality that is a gap to alternate worlds. Ryn thinks she is ready for anything that might pop through the tear, until Ezra, a scared, confused young man shows up, and questions everything.

Get your copy of The Rift Uprising at Amazon.

Damn those scared, confused young men. They muck up everything. I’m in for this. I love the idea of tears in the fabric between alternate Earths. Alternate universes must be my new thing. Check out my review of Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016 edited by Karen Joy Fowler

I love to have a book of short stories hanging around. Quick reads for the times that I am between books, or have a short time to kill. Sometimes I just need to cleanse the palate as I change gears. This book has stories by Salman Rushdie, Kelly Link, and Dexter Palmer and one of my personal favorites, Charlie Jane Anders (Check out my review of Anders’ “All The Birds In The Sky, one of my favorite books this year)

Get your copy of The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016 at Amazon now.

I’m excited about these 4 books. What do you think? Leave me a comment below. Let me know if you read any or all of these. I want to hear it.

Be sure to keep up with The Geekiverse across social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. Watch The Geekiverse Show on YouTube and listen to The Geekiverse Podcast on iTunes today!

Pete Herr is the author of “10 Things We Should Teach You In High School and Usually Don’t”. He is the oldest geek in the Geekiverse by a factor of two. Follow Pete Herr on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram . If you don’t he gets Grumpy. You don’t want to see him Grumpy.

 

 

14 thoughts on “BOOKS: 4 New Sci Fi Books To Read This October”

Leave a Reply

